STK-ID 31462

Constitutional Conference of Federal and Provincial Governments. Several shots of Quebec Legislature. Two-shot of arrival of Prime Minister Louis Saint-Laurent and Premier Joseph Smallwood of Newfoundland at Governor General's residence in the Citadel. Shots of Governor general Alexander, Premier Leslie M Frost of Ontario and Prime minister Saint-Laurent in courtyard, looking through small telescope. Several shots of all ten provincial Premiers posing with Governor general Alexander and Prime minister Saint-Laurent on boardwalk, including Ernest C Manning of Alberta, Byron I Johnson of British Columbia, Doglas L Campbell of Manitoba, John Babbitt McNair of New Brunswick, Angus L Macdonald of Nova Scotia, Joseph Smallwood of Newfoundland, Leslie Frost of Ontario, Maurice Duplessis of Quebec, John Walter Jones of Prince Edward Island and Thomas C Douglas of Saskatchewan. Shot of photographers shooting and snapping. Sequence on premiers strolling on Dufferin Terrace, riding caleches, entering building where conference is to be held. Various interior shots of premiers sitting in twos and threes at their stations, chatting, shaking hands and deliberating when Saint-Laurent takes his seat. Various shots of premiers at long table, of premiers exiting from hall. (29/09/1950)


Excerpt from
Dominion-Provincial Conference / Family Rosary Rally
Quebec City
National Film Board
Available formats
Reel 35 mm, Digital Video Disk, HDCAM SR
Shooting format
35mm fine grain b&w
Aspect ratio
Available resolutions
1920 x 1080